Results 2nd round 2017/2018

The second round of the Physics Olympiad took place on 17. January 2018. A total of 45 students took the exam in Berne, Zurich, Lausanne and Lugano. 26 Swiss participants, as well as 2 from Liechtenstein, qualified for the final round of the Swiss Physics Olympiad.

Place Name Points (Max 70)
1 Julius Vering 40.50
2 Ciril Humbel 36.00
3 Tim Mosimann 34.75
4 Tobias Hächler 32.00
5 Erwan Serandour 31.25
6 Severin Spörri 28.50
7 Keanu Gleixner 27.25
8 Lennart Horn 24.50
9 Bibin Muttappillil 23.50
10 Arthur Jaques 22.50
11 Namu Bae 22.35
12 Jonas Raich 22.25
13 Hiro Josep Farré Kaga 22.25
14 Lucas Dodgson 22.00
15 Jonas Schweiger 21.25
16 Laura Nydegger 21.00
17 Andreas Schneider 21.00
18 Ramon Buchenberger 20.50
19 Matthias Bürgler 19.50
20 Edouard Dufour 19.20
21 Louis Linder 19.00
22 Nicolas Schmid 19.00
23 Marco Rotschi 19.00
24 Jonathan Esche 18.00
25 Eric Ströher 17.75
26 Thoma Leisibach 17.75
Mario Wildhaber Liechtenstein
Katharina Eigenmann Liechtenstein

Congratulations to all successful participants. We wish them good luck for the final round which will take place on 24. – 25. March at ‘Neue Kantonsschule’ in Aarau. A good performance at the final round will allow you to represent Switzerland at the European Physics Olympiad 2018 in Moscow or even at the International Physics Olympiad 2018 in Lisbon.

We would also like to thank everyone, who didn’t make it to the final round, for participating. Hopefully, many of them will try again next year.

A few pictures from the different venues:

Zürich (ETH)

Lausanne (EPFL)

© Bilder: Dominik Gresch, Thanh Phong Lê

Preparation camp 2017/2018

In the beginning of November 2017, a preparation camp for the second round was held in Vordemwald. 35 students participated in the camp. In addition to the lectures and the exercises, we visited the nuclear power plant in Gösgen. In the evenings, we had various entertaining activities planned.

Results 1st round 2017/18

We would like to thank all participants and teachers for taking part in the competition. The multiple-choice test was taken by 647 students (558 from Switzerland and 89 from Liechtenstein). The number of participants is almost ten times higher than the average of the previous years.

15 points were necessary to qualify for the preparation camp and the second round. 59 participants achieved the necessary 15 points. Additionally, 18 wild cards were handed out. We would like to invite the following people to the preparation camp and to the second round:

Noah Ackermann Robert Adarraga Eric Aschari Namu Bae
Stefan Baumann Fabian Beck Michelle Bollier Benno Bösch
Ramón Buchenberger Matthias Bürgler Lucas Dodgson Gabriele Donati
Luka Dragomirovic Edouard Dufour Florian Eisenring Jonathan Esche
Hiro Josep Farré Kaga Raphaël Fragnière Nicolaz Frei Leonie Gasser
Keanu Gleixner Michael Ha Tobias Hächler Philipp Hänsel
Nathan Hoffman Fabio Holdener Lennart Horn Dominik Hügli
Ciril Humbel Scott Irvine Arthur Jaques Moritz Käch
Ruben Kaufmann Michael Kitto Dominik Kleinstück Etienne Lacroux
Marco Lazic Simon Leber Thoma Leisibach Sebastiaan Leys
Louis Linder Giuseppe Maggisano Justus Maleck Jonas Meier
Tim Mosimann Bibin Muttappillil Patrick Nutt Laura Nydegger
Yunshu Ouyang Fabian Popp Jonas Raich Ruben Rauter
Joel Reichardt Samuel Renggli Marco Rotschi Aja Ruoss
Joshua Ruoss Alexander Schaller Gabriela Schenk Nicolas Schmid
Michael Schmolzer Andreas Schneider Jonas Schweiger Daniel Schwyzer
Erwan Serandour Maciej Smela Severin Spörri Eric Ströher
Kieron Tella Julius Vering Joël Vögtlin Mario Wildhaber
Dana Zimmermann Raphael Zumbrunn  

All participants listed here will receive an invitation with further information by email. If you don't receive an email by 10.10.2017, please contact Sebastian Stengele as soon as possible.

Point spread:

(x-axis: points, y-axis: # of people)

IPhO 2017 : Results

This year the 48th physics olympiad took place in Yogyakarta (Indonesia).

The competition was split into two five hour exams. The experimental part consisted of two experiments. In the first one the students used a laser to examine the index of refraction and the constant of diffusion of a salt solution. The second experiment was about a so-called PDL trap that can make graphite rods levitate. A PDL trap is constructed using two magnets arranged in a certain way. The participants had to measure different properties of the magnets and rods in order to figure out how to use this PDL trap as a seismograph and a tilt sensor.

In the theoretical part the students were given three challenging problems. The subjects included dark matter, the expansion of the Universe and - fitting for Indonesia - tsunamis and earthquakes.

Switzerland was represented by (from left to right)

  • Tamar Som, from Lengnau/AG (Kantonsschule Baden)
  • Pascal Isenring, from Rafz/ZH (Kantonsschule Zürcher Unterland)
  • Adrian Rutschmann, from Bülach/ZH (Kantonsschule Zürcher Unterland)
  • Henning Zhang, from Villigen/AG (Kantonsschule Wettingen)
  • Alexandre Pinazza, from Lonay/VD (Gymnase de Morges)

Our participants achieved great results. Adrian Rutschmann und Henning Zhang won a bronze medal, and Pascal Isenring, Alexandre Pinazza and Tamar Som received honorable mentions!

We would like to congratulate the participants. Not only for their individual success but also for the team's result!