SwissPhO 2017 - Results

Aarau - At the Swiss Physics Olympiad the best young talents in Physics were chosen. The competition took place the weekend of march 25th and 26th. The 28 finalists prepared themselves during the months since the Preliminary Round, tackling a wide range of Physics questions. One great opportunity was the training weekend that took place at EPFL. Everybody had a lot of fun exchanging ideas with other participants that are equally interested in Physics as they are.

The exam questions the participants had to solve were quite challenging. They had to show their knowledge and skills solving theoretical questions and and an interesting experiment. To succeed they had to work patiently and precisely. For the experiment the teenagers had to find the coefficient of friction of a string on a rod. They had to interpret the results and to show that the friction increases exponentially with the angle between the first and the last spot the string touches the rod.

The five gold medalists will form the Swiss team at the International Physics Olympiad 2017 in Yogyakarta, Indonesia. Additionally Julius Vering and Adrian Rutschmann were awarded with the special prize for the best junior physicist offered by the Swiss Physical Society. These prizes were handed over at the ceremony in the Neue Kantonsschule Aarau.

The final ranking of the SwissPhO 2017 is given as follows:

Rank Name Region Total (max. 120) Distinction Special Award
1 Vering Julius d 74.75 Gold SSP-Award 1
2 Rutschmann Adrian d 69.75 Gold SSP-Award 2
3 Zhang Henning d 67.05 Gold
4 Som Tamar d 61.15 Gold
5 Pinazza Alexandre f 55.75 Gold
6 Isenring Pascal d 53.75 Silver
7 Hofer Maxence f 53 Silver
8 Humbel Ciril d 52.35 Silver
9 Hajdin Nikola d 51.75 Silver
10 Mazenauer Justin d 50.35 Silver
11 Mukherjee Ambika d 49.25 Bronze
12 Nussbaum Parzival d 48.25 Bronze
13 Kaufmann Timon d 48 Bronze
14 Jordan Ari d 47.5 Bronze
15 Tobuschat Philip d 44.65 Bronze
16 Baudis Nathan d 44.55
17 Jaques Arthur i 44.35
18 Gaberdiel Alexander d 43.65
19 Montandon Loïc f 43
20 Gianotti Nicholas i 42.4
21 Hitz Maurizio d 38.6
22 Kellner Jost d 37.75
23 Bürgler Matthias d 34.25
24 Capelli Sandro i 29.65
Non-competitive (Liechtenstein):
1 Gartmann Jannik FL 47.25
2 Wohlwend Konstantin FL 45.5
3 Biedermann Joel FL 43.75
4 Peppard Luke FL 31.2

1) Best Swiss Participant (Swiss Physical Society Prize)
2) Second Best Swiss Participant (Swiss Physical Society Prize)

Congratulations to all the participants, especially to the first five of them who are thus taking part in the IPhO 2017 in Yogyakarta.

More detailed scores are available here: Switzerland, Liechtenstein

Additionally we encourage all the candidates to participate next year again. The experience you gained this year will definitely give you an advantage next year. Note that we are going to introduce a new preliminary round which will start around August 2017. More information will be published on our web page.

Press release by the ASSO: german, italian.

Photos of the closing ceremony can be found on the website of the ASSO.

Four of the five gold medalists (left to right): Adrian Rutschmann, Alexandre Pinazza, Julius Vering and Tamar Som.

All medalists of SwissPhO 2017.

Julius VeringAdrian Rutschmann
The recepients of the SPS awards: Julius Vering and Adrian Rutschmann

Photos taken during the exams:

Experimental Exam1
Experimental Exam2
Theoretical Exam1
Theoretical Exam2

© Images : AOSS, Markus Meier